TKD, the morning after

November 20, 2011

You know all those action books and movies where the character wakes up in a hospital aching all over? Where they couldn’t move because moving any part of their body causes shots of pain? I thought that was exaggerated and that it will never happen to me since I’m not an action star and I don’t engage in brawls.

But this morning when I woke up, I did what any injured character in movies or books do when they wake up the morning after: moan. As in UGHHHHHHHHHH…

To summarize, here’s my latest stat on FB: Eto na, buong katawan ko na ang sumasakit. Lahat ng joints. Bawat galaw. Sabi ni Sahbumnim, kung may masakit, pwedeng lagyan ng ice. Paano kung buong katawan yung masakit? Lulubog na lang ba ako sa yelo? Simpleng pag-iba lang ng posisyon sa pagkakahiga sa kama, kailangan dahan-dahan at pagkatagal-tagal para hindi gaanong masakit. Ngayon lang nangyari sa akin ‘to. Next week kaya, ganito ulit?

I woke up at around 6:30am and the first thing I felt was pain. I couldn’t move. I’m used to waking up at odd hours and shifting positions, but this time I couldn’t shift position because it was too painful to even turn on my side. But I was feeling stiff from lying on my back all night, so I gritted my teeth and slowly… oh-so-slowly turned on my side. When I finally reached the desired position, i pulled my blanket up to my chin and shivered myself to sleep. It wasn’t particularly cold, but I shivered.

I woke up again around 8am and couldn’t go back to sleep, so I lay on my bed trying to move. Isn’t that so lame? A friend was teasing me yesterday about being an old lady and having rheumatism. I scoffed at the thought; an old lady won’t be able to survive what I went through yesterday. But this morning when I woke up, I thought, gahd, is this how old people feel? Stiff and aching all over? I don’t want to be old, so I suppose this is okay, at least I’ve experienced what they feel.

Which brought about this epiphany: Whenever I experience something bad, I kind of chalk it up to experience. Like, okay lang, at least naexperience ko. So this pain is not okay because it’s painful, but at the same time I welcome the experience. I don’t want to feel this way again but it’s okay to feel it at least once.

I might have to experience this for a few more times before my body can get used to this, though. But next week, I’ll be ready with Alaxan! I’ve never tried taking that, because my pain threshold is pretty high, but I suppose this situation calls for it. I’d take it now if only I can go downstairs and buy the meds, but I’m afraid I won’t be able to go up the stairs again. It’s painful to go upstairs since last night, so I figured it’d be more painful today.

When we were in high school, one of the first things we do every year was to have the physical fitness test where we were supposed to do sit-ups. The next day, my classmates and I would be shushing ourselves when we laugh because of the pain it causes in our ribs. I’m not laughing, but I’m coughing, and pretty hard, too. So add that occasional but extreme pain to my various body pains and you get a very miserable Maye. Sigh.

So I’ll stay in bed and rest all day. As if I can do anything else. No regrets, thou. I’m still looking forward to next Saturday.

Leave a Reply

